Nature

Taking Time to Smell the *For Sale* Flowers

100_1232My tulips and daffodils stalled after poking their green shoots. We had warm days early in Feb & March, but they halted partway up, waiting until temps are consistently conducive to their display. As I wait, I’ve begun guessing when Holland’s (Michigan) tulips will brilliantly display themselves. Often, tulips beautifully coincide with Tulip Time dates for a stunning spectacle. This year I wonder if they’ll be earlier than May? The city-wide planning is amazing. Tulips are organized in fields, along side streets– everywhere!

100_1246
Tulips lining streets in Holland, MI.

I love nature, but I’m not a fan of

purchasing dying floral arrangements. The thought of buying plants without roots gives me visions of browning petals and brittle stems tossed into the garbage can. There are, what… like four or five optimal days of perfectly-scented and visual delight? Not enough IMHO to justify the money out. Which is why I have a rule: Pause to smell flowers for sale. I’ve been doing it for years. Even if it’s just one whiff, if I’m passing flowers out in the open (not behind glass doors in refrigeration; it must be readily accessible), I let shopping hold up a second and I get my fix with one, two, maybe three various colors or types. Then off I go. It’s like walking into a coffee shop, sniffing the air for what I love as an odor but dislike in taste. I don’t do that because I’d have to go to too much effort, like finding a parking spot, walking to the building, walking back to the car…. Oh yeah; and it’d be weird!

But you get the idea: Appreciation without any expense. I actually get upset if my husband buys me flowers for an occasion. Not irate and yelling upset, but silently fuming. My environmentally-conscious self (who feels terrible running the dishwasher or throwing away trash to sit and not decay in a dump) senses it’s akin to water overuse or bus exhaust or factory smoke plumes or littering in the park. No thank you. Just a turn doing dishes, please. That would be a sufficient show of love.

“Living free and in the wild,” as Martin and Chris Kratt say. Animals and plants, too, in this case– rooted in natural surroundings, nourished to flourish.

Leave a Reply

