Hobby · Sport

Get Out of the Wake

 

20170627_172246In honor of the Good ‘Ol Summertime and my slalom ski run about an hour ago, let’s talk about flow. You know the point at which a groove comes? When speed, terrain (or whatever the surface is), and skill level pour out of you in a rhythm? It’s a grand feeling.

Rarely does life, work, and family mesh in such harmony so as to emulate Aurora Borealis beauty. That’s why I love being out on the water and having a solid run weaving left and right. I have control of an outcome. Reaching with one arm, digging my back leg in, curling a tight bicep to grit it out, and rocketing across a wake to repeat on the other side: Mmmmmm. I’m not ‘laying tracks’ for that train that’s coming through –or that boss of a train that’s me— I’m carving it up! When one calf kills and the other leg’s quad is about to give out on me, when arm muscles burn and my lungs can barely catch a breath~ I know I’ve made something out of my lake time.

Of course, this spurt isn’t sustainable. Huffing and puffing, lead leg’s knee joint aching– the signal to let go (or beware of injury!) inevitably comes. Pushing hard for best results doesn’t last forever. Calm water gets upset and the sun inevitably goes down.

For the wakeboarding crowd, perhaps it would be better coined “Get Off the Wake” because jumps come from speed build-up and launching off the lip, flying up and over. I know there are wake surfing fanatics who ride the wake close to the stern. This ‘Get Out of the Wake’ post doesn’t really fit for that sport, either.

Back to the hum of carving. Now, I readily admit I’m mediocre. My extension isn’t near horizontal with my thigh almost rubbing the water. I don’t lean backwards so far on the cross-over, and I’m not privileged enough to ski behind a top-of-the-line boat which has virtually no wake. These aspects in which I fall short aside, the point is this: There would be no fun if I balanced in the center. I’m not even a proponent of the common phrase on how “life is a balance” because living in the extremes isn’t always fun. Sometimes it’s flat out unnerving! My main message is be adventurous. Mainstream is boring. Explore. Design a path. Meander. Repeat if you like the new pursuit. Make sure it’s healthy for your body, and change it up. Improve your skills. Smile. Tire yourself out and feel satisfaction from sore muscles for a couple days afterwards.

Go do something you love.

20170627_165117

Leave a Reply

